Oil - A Newbie's journey into Technical Analysis

(edited)

I've moved my posting to a separate thread here as I am a rookie at this and don't want to clog up other people's threads with my amateurism! :)

Yesterday I concluded that:

"Personally, I suspect we might see some erratic movements which are typical at a turning point but may well include some higher prices from here. On the downside, if we break last week's low just under $55 then I will still be targetting that weekly 200 MA in the oblong in the chart."

Well, I waited all morning for the price to breach that upper resistance area between the twin red dashed lines - but it never happened and we spent several hours drifting between that area and last friday's close…..

But then we finally breached the Friday close line, which was a clear signal that the downtrend was still valid and providing a strong sell signal - and what a  follow-through! As I mentioned, I am watching that weekly 200-period SMA. It had looked a long way down at 52.27 but we quickly dropped through the nearby support line under the market as well as last week's close line and ended up within a whisper of that MA at 52.75 (on my platform).

That was certainly one of the fastest trades I have had so far! 

As a Newbie, I am still not sure how well oil markets follow technicals but it was encouraging to see that after breaking last week's low there was not only a fast follow-through but there was also a rapid rebound to retest it before continuing on down (a good technical re-entry level). It is also interesting from a TA perspective to see that we have rebounded this morning in the Asian markets to yesterday's Daily Pivot level.

Edited by Streamer